Prayer of Anselm 2

Lord, because you have made me, I owe you the whole of my love;
because you have redeemed me, I owe you the whole of myself;
because you have promised so much, I owe you all my being.

Moreover, I owe you as much more love than myself as you are greater than I,
for whom you gave yourself and to whom you promised yourself.

I pray you, Lord, make me taste by love what I taste by knowledge;
let me know by love what I know by understanding.

I owe you more than my whole self, but I have no more, and by myself, I cannot render the whole of it to you.

Draw me to you, Lord, in the fullness of love.
I am wholly yours by creation; make me all yours, too, in love. 

Leave a Reply

